Review: ‘Winter’ (Book 4 of the ‘Lunar Chronicles’) by Marissa Meyer

Blurb from GoodReads:

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mark her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

Review: 

I have to confess myself slightly disappointed with this one, particularly as I loved books 1-3 (read my review here,) especially the plot and character development within ‘Cress’ (Meyer’s innovative reworking of the Rapunzel fairytale.) Here, I felt as though the fairytale (‘Snow White’) had been reworked a little too hard- I didn’t feel as engaged with the character of Winter (the ‘Snow White’ princess) who is trapped on Lunar with the evil, scheming Queen Levana. I did enjoy her romance with Jacin, the handsome guard (the ‘Huntsman’ figure, perhaps?) but the ongoing subplots with Scarlet, Iko, and Cinder felt too complex. It didn’t have the same flow to me as the others, and I found Cinder’s character a little grating. (Emperor Kai I also found really, really dull. I get it, he’s a good guy, and he’s pretty and all, but there was no edge to him. Therefore, the ongoing Cinder/Kai romance just got on my nerves.) I still liked Cress, I just felt as though each character was a chess piece on a massive board, and every move got more and more elaborate, and for me, it felt overthought.

As I’m not a massive sci-fi fan either, the references to Cinder’s (space) ship were interesting, but fell a bit flat for me. This is probably personal preference. Overall, an interesting conclusion to a series I greatly enjoyed, but not as innovative or fun as its predecessors.

Overall rating: 3 out of 10

Read if you enjoyed: ‘Cruel Beauty’ by Rosamund Hodge

This book in four words: Complex. Elaborate. Intersecting. Science.

Favourite Character: Cress

Diversity Checklist: Characters of different races and classes

Image from andantegrazioso on Tumblr

Leave a Reply

