A Trip to Hogwarts Library…or, Suggested Reading for Brave Hufflepuffs…

Image result for hufflepuff

Image via here on Pinterest

 

It’s safe to say I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan, and have been ever since the first book. It formed a huge part of my childhood, and I will always love the books and films. So it seemed like a natural progression for me to join Pottermore, the website for all things Potter, championed by Rowling herself. Here you can get Sorted, and even choose your own wand. (!!!!) What didn’t seem quite so natural, however, was when I got sorted into Hufflepuff. I mean, come on, surely I’m Gryffindor or Ravenclaw right? Every one always says that Hufflepuffs are a bit meh. Compared to Ravenclaw’s eagle or Slytherin’s snake, Hufflepuff’s house animal of um…a badger, seems kind of disappointing. However, after a few moments (of hyperventilating,) I began to see that Hufflepuffs are actually kind of badass. I mean, Newt Scamander, Cedric Diggory and the AMAZING (Nymphadora) Tonks are all Hufflepuffs.Oh, how I love Tonks.

And Hufflepuffs are loyal, friendly, welcoming, and inquisitive. Plus, you can see their house colours of yellow a mile off. Probably even from space, or even if you were flying a broomstick. Oh yeah, and apparently (according to my Hufflepuff induction on Pottermore) badgers can fight off wolves when threatened. Freaking WOLVES. Hurrah!!

Image result for hufflepuff

So in honour of my Sorting, I have decided to share with you all five suggestions for books to make a Hufflepuff (like myself) feel at home when introduced to Hogwarts. After all, the Hogwarts Library is pretty big…

1. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling (ahem, I mean, Newt Scamander…) your one-stop guide to all the magical beasts EVER, written by one of the most badass Hufflepuffs EVER, Mr. Scamander (soon to be the star of his own film- I can’t wait!!!)

2. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts 1 and 2– Ok, so this one is pretty obvious, but still…

3. The Wind in the Willows-by Kenneth Grahame: Because who doesn’t love a wonderfully whimsical book featuring a friendly, talking badger?

4.Eragon by Christopher Paolini- because Eragon’s bond with his beautiful blue dragon, Saphira, is the stuff of legend. And because didn’t Cedric have to fight off a particularly nasty dragon in the Triwizard Tournament?

5. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater- because sure, lessons are hard, Professor McGonagall is kind of terrifying, but at least you don’t have to worry, like Stiefvater’s character, Blue, that you will KILL your true love (gulp…) Kind of puts it into perspective.

And remember, if you are lucky enough to see The Cursed Child play- I’M GOING NEXT YEAR!! HURRAH!!- then please don’t be a Muggle and #KeeptheSecrets!

Image result for hufflepuff

Other images, including the one above, are via Google- sorry for the lack of credit!

Leave a Reply

