The Fairy Dust Book Blog’s Top Books about New Orleans

New Orleans (aka NOLA,) the home of jazz, Mardi Gras, the bayou and beignets has been a source of creative inspiration for writers- for instance, the great Tennessee Williams– musicians and artists for decades. As it is currently VERY high up on my ‘must see’ places, I thought I’d post a list of my own…

The Fairydust Book Blog’s Top 6 Things For Oscar Wilde Fans

As a lifelong Oscar Wilde fan I thought it would be a good idea to post a list of things that other devoted Wildeans might enjoy. Some of these involve places in London, but others you can enjoy from the comfort of your own Aesthetically-pleasing home, ideally while raising a glass of something decadent and…

Film Review: ‘The Sorceror’s Apprentice’ (2010)

Review: Points in ‘The Sorceror’s Apprentice‘s’ favour: it’s a fun, fast-paced family-friendly film with a lot of snappy dry humour generated from the banter between arcane sorceror Bathalzar (Nicolas Cage in a hilarious wig) and  oddball physics student-turned-fledgling sorceror, Dave (Jay Baruchel.) I particularly loved the urban Manhattan setting, (very ‘Mortal Instruments‘) the sweeping interior shots of the…

Review: ‘Labyrinth Lost’ by Zoraida Cordova

Blurb from GoodReads.com:  Alex- or Alejandra-is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo she can’t trust, but who may…

Review: ‘The Last Days of Leda Grey’ by Essie Fox

Blurb from GoodReads.com: A bewitching novel about an enigmatic silent film actress, and the volatile love affair that left her a recluse for over half a century – for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier. During the oppressive heat wave of 1976 a young journalist, Ed Peters, finds an Edwardian photograph in a junk…

Review: ‘The Rules of Magic’ by Alice Hoffman

Blurb from GoodReads.com: Find your magic For the Owens family, love is a curse that began in 1620, when Maria Owens was charged with witchery for loving the wrong man. Hundreds of years later, in New York City at the cusp of the sixties, when the whole world is about to change, Susanna Owens knows…

Review: ‘The Watchmaker of Filigree Street’ by Natasha Pulley

Blurb from GoodReads.com: A sweeping, atmospheric narrative that takes the reader on an unexpected journey through Victorian London, Japan as its civil war crumbles long-standing traditions, and beyond. 1883. Thaniel Steepleton returns home to his tiny London apartment to find a gold pocket watch on his pillow. Six months later, the mysterious timepiece saves his…

Review: ‘Carnevale’ by Michelle Lovric

Blurb from Amazon.com:  When I think of Venice as she was in 1782, I think of a hundred thousand souls all devoted to pleasure. Souls like that become insubstantial and faintly luminous. You see, we were in the phosphorescent stage of decay… Richly imagined and as irresistible as its magical setting, Carnevale evokes the three great loves…

Review: ‘The Owl Killers’ by Karen Maitland

Blurb from Amazon.com:  In the heart of the countryside lies an isolated village, where ‘Owl Masters’ rule through fear, superstition and murder. When a group of religious women ill-advisedly settles outside the village, they awaken dangerous jealousies. Why do their crops succeed? How do their cattle survive the plague? Are they concealing a holy relic…

#Transgender Awareness Week Film Review: ‘The Danish Girl’ (2015)

   Please note: this film review is a repost from The Breathing Ghosts Series Blog– the official blog for my series of novels- and is in honour of Transgender Awareness Week 2017 Review: Watching The Danish Girl (TDG) was a really intense experience for me- Eddie Redmayne has an unnerving ability to really become the…